The best preserved of the three lookouts of Kupelwieser’s Brioni which was due to its design displayed at exhibitions. Made around 1895 at the forge in Vitkovici, which is where Paul Kupelwieser worked prior to arriving on Brijuni. Once the dominant tourist attraction is now outgrown by the forest. Second preserved lookout is located on a hill Saluga, above the main Brijuni beach. This is a unique example of engineering architecture.
Kupelwieser family mausoleum dating from 1917. Although intended as a final resting place of the owner of the island and his wife, it is the resting place of his wife and son.
Mary Kupelwieser, who faithfully followed her husband to achieve his dream of Brijuni was buried there along with his younger son Charles who after his father’s death took over the management of the island.
After a series of unsuccessful business moves due to the economic and emotional crises he takes his own life. Paul Kuplewieser died in Vienna. On the tombstone in front of his name, there is only the name of his beloved island.
Alojz Čufar, forester and engineer of the Brioni promenade, cleand up the old accumulated waste from the old rock quarries. The old quarries became perfect for the pleasant walks at any time of the year: being protected from summer heat and cold winds, today they are a favorite destination of spa guests.
As a recognition of great research by Dr. Robert Koch who freed the island of malaria, in 1905 a memorial is set in the Koch quarry. The marble relief is a work of the sculptor J. Engelhart.
Alojz Čufar, valued colleague and longtime director of Brijuni, the grateful Kupelwieser family placed a bronze plaque in memory of his contribution to the development of the island. The plaque is the work of the artist J. Engelhart.
Leave a reply
Fields marked with * are required